Kasey Kahne Wins at New Hampshire Motor Speedway

It's the weekend and that means only one thing in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series - game time!

Kyle Busch of the #18 Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing has won the pole during qualifying. He lead the race to green for the LENOX Industrial Tools 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. Rounding up the top ten starting positions are Kasey Kahne, Denny Hamlin, Martin Truex Jr., Clint Bowyer, Ryan Newman, Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Tony Stewart.

Sprint Cup Series - New Hampshire Motor Speedway #5 Kasey Kahne
Kasey Kahne of #5 Chevrolet took over the lead at NHMS

At exactly 1:16 PM ET, the race went under way. 

After 10 laps, Denny Hamlin took over the second place from Kahne. Lap 89 brought the night's first caution due to debris on the track. At the restart Jeff Gordon, Denny Hamlin, Kasey Kahne, Jimmie Johnson and Brad Keselowski are the leaders. Kyle Busch is now on 10th while Hamlin took over the lead position. 

At Lap 232, both Busch and Johnson pitted only to have David Reutimann (driver of the #93 Chevrolet for Tommy Baldwin Racing) brought a yellow due to a blown engine at Lap 233. This has cost Johnson and Busch to be both at a lap down but Jimmie got the lucky dog pass.

Sprint Cup Series - New Hampshire Motor Speedway #48 Jimmie Johnson
Jimmie Johnson #48 Chevrolet pits at Loudon

With 10 laps to go, Denny Hamlin (#11 Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing) is just 1.8 seconds behind the now leader Kasey Kahne. At Lap 301, Kasey Kahn of the #5 Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports has grabbed the checkered flag. This is his 2nd win of the season and 14th of his career. Check out lap by lap details here.

Rounding up the top 10 are Denny Hamlin, Clint Bowyer (#15 Toyota for Michael Waltrip Racing), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (#88 Chevrolet for Henrdick Motorsports), Brad Keselowski (#2 Dodge for Penske Racing), Jeff Gordon (#24 Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports), Jimmie Johnson (#48 Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports), Kevin Harvick (#29 Chevrolet for Richard Childress Racing), Greg Biffle (#16 Ford for Roush Fenway Racing), and Ryan Newman (#39 Chevrolet for Stewart-Haas Racing). See full results here.

All in all, it was a good week for Hendrick Motorsports with all of its 4 drivers finishing in the top 10; and the #5 finishing with a win.

The winner, Kasey Kahne, gained 4 positions in the standings for the Chase; he now place #12. Denny Hamlin gained 2 positions while Clint Bowyer gained one. Tony (Smoke) Stewart, Paul Menard and Joey Logano all lost 2 positions. Smoke is still in the top 10, though. Kyle Busch and Brad Keselowski both lost a position. See the full standings here.

Post a Comment